CCF Summer Devo 2 – Prayer Rock

Posted On May 28, 2011

Filed under Devotional

Comments Dropped leave a response

Prayer Rock

I have never shared with any of you about my prayer rock.  I got this rock about 9 years ago at a convention.  It is a flat rock that has the word IMAGINE engraved in it.  What I do is I stick it in my pocket everyday with my loose change.  As the day does by and I stick my hand in my pocket, I feel that rock and it reminds me to pray specifically for the campus, campus ministry or for specific student(s) on the campus.

16Be joyful always; 17pray continually; 18give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)  “18And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.” (Ephesians 6:18)  I don’t share about the rock with you to say ‘Look how spiritual I am’, but I do take these admonitions from Paul seriously and I hope that you do as well.  We have been sharing specific requests and will continue to do so through the summer.  Sometimes our prayers can sound more like shopping lists and we need to pray for the things that God’s heart beats for.

I like the word IMAGINE on the rock because I can imagine some pretty big things.  20Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen. (Ephesians 3:20, 21)

What can you imagine for our ministry in this next year?

Here’s mine:

  • Students who purposefully and effectively share Christ with other students.
  • A community of believers (a family, a home-away-from-home) that is attractive for all students.
  • Four or five discipleship clusters that meet together weekly for Bible study and prayer.
  • Students using their spiritual gifts to glorify God and serve others on the campus.
  • Students gathering for informal hang-out times and doing positive, spiritually healthy things for fun instead of engaging in the culture around them.
  • Students involved in the campus ministry would also be attending local churches.

This is just a partial list for me.  I haven’t even mentioned service (Saferide, free meals, mission trips) and campus wide events we would host or some specific things about BASIC meetings.

Here is my challenge to you.  This week come up with a list of things that you can imagine for the student ministry and begin praying for those things all through the summer.  Seek the Lord for what He wants you to do in ministry while at Barton next year (or at your next institution if you are a graduate).

And on a side note, I’d love to know one or two things on your list.  Post them to the CCF Fan Page wall so that we can all share them.

Besides your list, let me give you a few other prayer ideas.

  • Pray for the students who are not Christians that are coming to campus.  That the Lord will prepare their heart over the summer for the good news that we have.
  • Pray for the students who are already Christians that are coming to school.  Pray that they will have the courage to take a stand for Christ, see the importance of being involved in a campus ministry, and to stay away from the temptations and “bad” elements of campus life.
  • Pray for our beginning of the year activities.  The first few weeks are really important for the growth and health of the ministry. We will need to be ready. (I’ll share more on this in a future email in July on how you can help)
  • Pray for our Student Leadership Team; that the Lord will give them wisdom as decisions are made in preparation for the year.
Leave a Reply

