CCF Summer ’10 Devo #5: Getting to the Good Wood

Posted On July 19, 2010

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped leave a response

 

Getting to the Good Wood

Anybody who knows me knows I am NOT a handyman.  If something breaks in my home, my first and only instinct is to call a professional.  When I was in college, I lived in a house with 4 other guys and a couple of them were “handy” so through the years we had a few home repair projects that I helped in (I would have had no idea what to do if it wasn’t for my housemates telling me what to do).  One such project was to repaint a door.  This particular door had probably a dozen layers of paint and you could see all the layers as it flaked all over the door.  So I was ready to paint when Don, the lead on the project, said that we needed to scrape the old paint off.  I asked why not just repaint it and he informed me that we had to otherwise we would just add a thirteenth layer of paint and it would flake even worse.  Don said that we had to get to the “good wood”.

James writes “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” (James 1:2 – 4)  James is describing the scraping process that happens in our lives much like we had to do to the door.  As painful as it may be, James says that God wants to not let those experiences go to waste rather use them to develop your faith and trust in Him.  God wants to use those experiences to get to the “good wood”.

This summer for you may be a tough one: you graduated and have had some difficulty finding a job, there are some family things going on right now that are challenging, you are wondering how you are going to pay for college…

Understand that as you persevere through those things and continue to trust God, the end result will be a mature faith.  It’s certainly not fun as you go through it, but in the end God will show you and get to the “good wood”.

Leave a Reply

